Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Brain Science and Criminal Law: Application of the Rules of Evidence

June 3, 2014 @ 3:30 am - 4:30 pm

Neuroscience is changing the way law is practiced in the United States. Are you ready to effectively use it in your profession, whether as a lawyer or a psychologist? This webinar will discuss how courts should analyze, and thus how experts should frame, psychological testimony in criminal trials that relies on neuroscientific findings. Specifically, it will address the extent to which such findings meet the four queries that all judges evaluating expert testimony must answer: whether the testimony is material, probative, helpful and likely to be used appropriately by the factfinder. In the course of doing so, the webinar will note recent research on the relationship between brain dysfunction and criminal behavior and the effect of expert testimony on legal fact-finders.

The next installment of the AP-LS Student Committee Webinar Series will provide insight into brain science and the legal rules of evidence. We are very excited to be joined by Chris Slobogin, J.D., LL.M., a professor at Vanderbilt Law School, to discuss “Brain Science and Criminal Law: Application of the Rules of Evidence” on Tuesday, June 3, from 3:30-4:30pm Eastern (2:30-3:30pm CST and 12:30pm-1:30pm PST). This interactive webinar will be moderated by Emily Haney-Caron, Law Liaison for the AP-LS Student Committee.

To register, go to: http://www.anymeeting.com/PIID=EA56DA83894E3E

 

Details

Date:
June 3, 2014
Time:
3:30 am - 4:30 pm

Venue

Webinar